Photo by: Robert Wijtman

TMWC Women win 4th consecutive Senior Nationals Championship 

By: Jonny Ruggiano

The Titan Mercury Wrestling Club entered the Westgate Sports Center with one goal: to claim another Senior National Title. Coach Marcie Van Dusen Lane’s squad accomplished that mission. Yet this time the task needed all hands on deck.

Usually known for a larger presence, the TMWC roster included only 10 wrestlers; Marina Doi, Regina Doi, Jacarra Winchester, Becka Leathers, Randi Beltz, Jennifer Page, Mallory Velte, Elena Pirozhkova, Tamyra Mensah and Forrest Molinari. Never the less, each member of the team competing placed and qualified for the World Team Trials, which will be held in Las Vegas in the spring.

The team was led by champions Jennifer Page and Elena Pirozkhova. Pirozkhova, a two time Olympian edged fellow teammate and 2016 Olympic Trials Champion Tamyra Mensah 4-3. Mensah seemed to have a potential 4 point move after dumping Pirozkhova to her back in the finals, however the table judge ruled it to be only 2 points. After review the call was kept and Pirozkhova won the bout. Page knocked off Maya Nelson of the Sunkist kids in the finals 3-1. After an outstanding complete tournament, Jennifer Page was also awarded the Outstanding Wrestler Award.

Other TMWC Wrestlers to make the finals were Jacarra Winchester, who lost 3-2 to Kelsey Campbell. In a familiar match up TMWC’s Becka Leathers took 2nd after falling to Kayla Miracle. Leathers had another tough fought semifinals battle against TMWC wrestler Randi Beltz to make the finals.

TMWC wrestlers who also claimed placings and a spot at the World Team Trials were Marina Doi, Randi Beltz, Mallory Velte and Forrest Molinari, who all took third. Regina Doi also placed 6th.

Micah Burak also wrestled in the 98 kg. Greco Roman division. Burak placed 4th and had earned a spot at the World Team Trials.

As the 2016 year concludes the wrestling season continues. Several of the members of Titan Mercury will travel across the globe for international competition. The next major international tournament will take place no home soil as wrestlers compete at the Dave Schultz Memorial at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, CO. The Dave Schultz will be held Wednesday, February 1st through Friday, February 3rd.

The following information can be originally found at www.themat.com

Dec. 17-18 at Las Vegas, Nev.

Women’s Freestyle Results
Div. I Team Champions – Titan Mercury WC
Div. II Team Champions – New York AC
Outstanding Wrestler – Jennifer Page, 63 kg champion

48 kg/105.5 lbs.
1st – Victoria Anthony (Sunkist Kids) fall Erin Golston (New York AC), 4:52
3rd – Marina Doi (Titan Mercury WC) dec. Tayler Resuriz (Bearcat WC), 5-0
5th – Allene Somera (U.S. Army WCAP) tech. fall Regina Doi (Titan Mercury WC), 10-0
7th – Vanessa Ramirez (Bearcat WC) tech. fall Iesha Washington (Lions WC), 10-0

53 kg/116.5 lbs.
1st – Whitney Conder (U.S. Army WCAP) tech. fall Dajan Treder (Jamestown), 10-0
3rd – Cassidy Jasperson (Aries WC) dec. Christina Powell (Viking WC), 6-2
5th – Mayra Ramirez (Wayland Baptist) tech. fall Autumn Gordon (Bearcat WC), 12-2
7th – Lindsey Spjut (Bearcat WC) dec. Victoria Gutierrez (Lions WC), 6-0

55 kg/121 lbs.
1st – Kelsey Campbell (Sunkist Kids) dec. Jacarra Winchester (Titan Mercury WC), 3-2
3rd – Dominique Parrish (Simon Fraser) tech. fall Deanna Betterman (Sunkist Kids), 11-0
5th – Brieana Delgado (Aries WC) dec. Gabriellle Weyhrich (Bearcat WC), 4-0
7th – Rachel Archer (Aries WC) tech. fall Kelli Rasmussen (Minnesota Storm), 12-0

58 kg/128 lbs.
1st – Kayla Miracle (Sunkist Kids) dec. Becka Leathers (Titan Mercury WC), 4-0
3rd – Randi Beltz (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Areana Villaescusa (U.S. Army WCAP), 10-0
5th – Lauren Louive (New York AC) forfeit Trinity Griffin (Sunkist Kids)
7th – Megan Black (Bearcat WC) tech. fall Shelby Morrison (Aries WC), 12-2

60 kg/132 lbs.
1st – Jenna Burkert (U.S. Army WCAP) tech. fall Carla Ponce (Aries WC), 10-0
3rd – Nicole Joseph (King University) dec. Abigail Nette (Lions WC), 7-0
5th – Cheyenne Bates (Wayland Baptist) dec. Arian Carpio (Sunkist Kids), 9-0
7th – Darla Allen (Bearcat WC) tech. fall Daniela Flores (Aries WC), 10-0

63 kg/138.75 lbs.
1st – Jennifer Page (Titan Mercury WC) dec. Maya Nelson (Sunkist Kids), 3-1
3rd – Mallory Velte (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Alexis Porter (New York AC), 10-0
5th – Jessica Kee (New York AC) tech. fall Margaret Douma (Aries WC), 11-0
7th – Marina Briceno (Wayland Baptist) tech. fall Brianna Holcomb (Aries WC), 10-0

69 kg/152 lbs.
1st – Elena Pirozhkova (Titan Mercury WC) dec. Tamyra Mensah (Titan Mercury WC), 4-3
3rd – Forrest Molinari (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Alexandria Glaude (Bearcat WC), 10-0
5th – Andrea Sennett (Bearcat WC) forfeit Rachel Watters (Aries WC)
7th – Cara Romeike (Jamestown) dec. Ophelia Lara (Lions WC), 6-4

75 kg/165 lbs.
1st – Erin Clodgo (Sunkist Kids) dec. Julia Salata (New York AC), 5-2
3rd – Brandy Lowe (Bearcat WC) tech. fall Yvette Garcia (AAJJ), 10-0
5th – Nahiela Magee (Bearcat WC) dec. Brittany Marshall (Wayland Baptist), 11-10

Greco Roman

98 kg/215.5 lbs.
1st – G’Angelo Hancock (NYAC) dec. Hayden Zillmer (Minnesota Storm), 2-0
3rd – Enock Francois (New York AC) dec. Micah Burak (Titan Mercury WC), 4-1
5th – James Souza (U.S. Army WCAP) win by fall Trent Osnes Camp (Marines), 0:46
7th – Daniel Miller (Marines) tech fall Anthony Riopelle (NMU-OTS), 8-0

Total Views: 1074 ,
Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *